End of Summer Update

15 Aug

Even as I type this, I can’t believe Summer 2013 is already coming to an end. It’s been such an eventful one that July and now August are flying right by!

BlackFestAs you may have seen in the New York Times and Playbill, my latest news is that I’ve been commissioned to contribute to The New Black Fest‘s evening of short plays Facing Our Truth: Ten-Minute Plays on Trayvon, Race, and Privilege. Like many of you, I was shocked by how un-shocked I was following the George Zimmerman verdict. And, like some of you, I was in New York City’s Union Square the following Sunday when the very emotional rally for Mr. Martin overflowed into the street and became a march. I am honored and delighted to be included among so many playwrights that I both respect and call my friends, and I hope my piece will contribute constructively and progressively to the dialogue on race in America.

In other news, I had a great time at Ground Floor and wrote a new play. I also spent a little time in Cambridge, MA with the A.R.T. Institute folks developing the same piece. This weekend I’m off with the Ma-Yi Writer’s Lab for our biennial retreat, and I can’t wait to share the work with them! Hopefully, all of this development will mean that I can put together a reading for you folks to hear sometime this fall.

Finally, there will be more news to come about other large-scale collaborative pieces for which I’m very excited to be writing. As soon as everything is official, I’ll let you know! Keep your eyes peeled for some fun adventures in early 2014.

One Response to “End of Summer Update”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Haiyan Aid, Social Justice, and Some News | A. Rey Pamatmat - January 27, 2014

    […] 10-Minute Plays on Trayvon, Race, and Privilege. The evening includes my play Some Other Kid, which was commissioned by The New Black Fest following the George Zimmerman verdict last fall. I join the folks at the NBT for the opening night celebration on February 5th and for a panel […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,086 other followers

