December Update

10 Dec

Happy holidays, everyone!

I’ve been in full on writing mode. As part of my PONY Fellowship, I’m a participant in The Lark‘s Playwriting Workshop, which keeps me on task generating new pages every week. Consequently, I’ve been a writing machine, and it’s taken a lot of my attention lately. But there’s news to report, and so report I will!

Image Design: QuickBrownFox Studio

Most importantly, the first licensed production of Edith Can Shoot Things and Hit Them opened at Manbites Dog in Durham, NC (e.g. this showing is not part of the NNPN Rolling Premiere, and — except for a few e-mails with director Jeff Storer — they did it all on their own!). Edith is officially all grown up and starting on some adventures without me. They’ve gotten great reviews and have one more week in their run, so please be sure to check them out. You can check out some production shots on The Upstager, and here are some links to those reviews:

Edith Can Shoot Things and Hit Them at Manbites Dog (Indy Week, December 7, 2011)

A. Rey Pamatmat’s “Edith Can Shoot Things and Hit Them” Teaches Important Lessons in Tolerance (Triangle Arts & Entertainment, December 8, 2011)

Next, I had a closed door reading of my latest play The Shotgun Message at The Lark at the end of November. I’m doing a little tinkering at the moment, but there will be a public reading of the play by Ma-Yi Theatre Company sometime in early 2012. I will keep you posted. The play is my take on a murder mystery and involves a journalist investigating an under-aged Internet prostitute who disappeared shortly after deciding to turn in all of his pedophile clients to the FBI. It’s a dark, gritty theatre noir more in line with my plays DEVIANT and Thunder Above, Deeps Below than with something like Edith, and it’s been great fun writing in those moral shades of gray once again.

Also, there were a few more reviews celebrating Actor’s Express‘s awesome run of Edith. Links to those are below, and I’ll update the press page soon.

Theatre Review: ‘Edith Can Shoot Things…” at Actor’s Express (Atlanta INtown, November 6, 2011)

Edith Can Shoot Things and Hit Them, an Atlanta Theater Fans Review (Atlanta Theater Fans, November 8, 2011)

Finally, here’s a little bit of a tease. The following picture is from a bit of fun Teresa Avia Lim, Jon Norman Schneider, Cory Michael Smith, and I had a few weeks ago. It’s not great quality (I took it on my phone, through a thick layer of glass, with 80 light sources and no polarizing filter), so I apologize for that, but I’m sure you can make out the gist. It’ll be some months before you see the fruits of our “labors” (labors being in quotes, because we had such a great time that it didn’t seem like work at all), and I’ll definitely keep you in the loop about that.

Leave a Reply

