Summertime

24 Jul

I’ll be flying to Chicago this Sunday to begin a workshop of my play The Shotgun Message as part of the 2012 Ignition Festival at Victory Gardens Theatre. You may recall that Victory Gardens was one of the very first theaters to hop on the Edith train in 2010, so I am beyond excited to be returning to the Festival this time around. The play will have a public staged reading on Saturday, May 4th at 7:00 PM. If you’re in the Chicago area, I hope you’ll join us. There are also two other readings that weekend and two more the following weekend. You can see the full details and get tickets here.

In other news, I spent the beginning of July at South Coast Repertory Theatre where we did a closed door reading of And Right Now that was a real treat. I then got to know the 1st year MFA Acting and Dramaturgy candidates at the A.R.T. Institute, who will be helping me in the development of a new play this fall.  And last week I ran up to The Lark‘s New York Stage & Film Retreat where I churned out fifty pages of a new play and got to know a great group of artists. All in all, it’s been a great month, and I can’t wait to cap it off with Ignition 2012.

I’ll post more details when casting is finalized. I hope to see you there!

One Response to “Summertime”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shotgun Hits Ignition Tonight « A. Rey Pamatmat - August 4, 2012

    […] with a play by new Ma-Yi Labbie Lauren Yee, and then finishes off its first week tonight with me! As previously mentioned, my theatre noir The Shotgun Message is part of Ignition 2012. Here are the details, please come […]

Leave a Reply

