Things Beautiful and terrible

2 Oct

Frank O'HaraOur second preview of after all the terrible things I do is tonight and in anticipation of our imminent opening on Friday, I would like to share a few poems by Frank O’Hara. I first read O’Hara’s Lunch Poems when a graduate school teacher gave me a copy. I enjoyed many of the poems, but for some reason my obsession didn’t quite kick in. A year or two later, though, I read O’Hara’s poem “Having a Coke With You” and the deal was sealed.

Although Frank O’Hara and aspects of his life and poetry are a big part of this play, here are two poems, neither of which appears or is mentioned in the script. They are a couple of my favorites, however, and both of them have relationships to the play that, for now, I’ll leave a mystery. Click the links below to read (so that I can respect copyright and all that jazz and not post them without permission):

POEM (The eager note on the door said, ‘Call me,’) published in Meditations in an Emergency

Personal Poem published in Lunch Poems

Frank O'Hara

Click here to buy tickets to after all the terrible things I do, now playing at The Milwaukee Rep.

2 Responses to “Things Beautiful and terrible

  1. Peter Emch October 2, 2014 at 4:44 pm #

    I saw after all the terrible things I do last night and loved it. Layer after layer of emotional passage for each character. Characters that I liked, and was pulling for, in spite of what they’ve done. Watching cowards being brave. Very uplifting, actually.

  2. Theodore Chisholm October 6, 2014 at 12:09 am #

    The play is brilliant; saw it today at the Rep.

Leave a Reply

