Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut. Sometimes You OM.

26 May

You. People.

You AMAZING people.

after all the terrible things I do and Edith Can Shoot Things and Hit Them, their directors, and I got amazing coverage in last Friday’s Boston Globe (sorry, I was going into previews and didn’t have a chance to let you know sooner).

A double feature from playwright Pamatmat, (The Boston Globe, May 21, 2015)

Maria Jan Carreon (as Edith) and Gideon Bautista (as Kenny) in “Edith.” (Paul Fox)

Maria Jan Carreon (as Edith) and Gideon Bautista (as Kenny) in “Edith.” (Paul Fox)

I’m delighted to say that for once — even though I sound like a bit of a nut — I actually sound like myself! WOW. That’s just weird. The yoga thing makes me look crazy. The relationship to my plays and autobiography make me sound like Daniel (in terrible things). All in all, though, these are all things I said and meant to say.

WBUR has also published a wonderful article about the shows and my work with thoughts from the directors and casts of both plays. It is so encouraging to hear them say publicly how happy they are to portray characters of color I’ve written. I’m just grateful to be given the chance to bring these characters to new audiences and to them for taking on these voices in my head!

The Huntington And Company One Bring Pamatmat To Boston, (WBUR’s The ARTery, May 26, 2015)

Tina Chilip plays Linda in

Tina Chilip plays Linda in “all the terrible things I do.” (Paul Marotta)

Our first weekend of previews for terrible things was a great success with not only a positive response to every preview performance, but with talkbacks attended by people who totally understood and emotionally connected with the play! We’ve got 9 previews left between now and next Tuesday. Come join us, the show is absolutely ready, and I’m excited to share it with you.

Which brings me back to that first, “You. People.” I want to say thanks to you all for your support for and attention to my work. Being able to articulate myself clearly both about my plays and about being an artist of color is directly related to your engagement. I look forward to whatever future engagements we may have.

OM. Shanti, shanti, shanti. OM. (It’s a joke. Read the top of The Globe article. Also, in that regard, I’ve been practicing in Boston at Down Under Yoga in Brookline. The teachers have been very welcoming, and it’s been a wonderful place to maintain my practice. Check them out the next time you’re in the area!)

One Response to “Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut. Sometimes You OM.”

  1. Ramon May 27, 2015 at 12:03 pm #

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

