Another Two Show Spring!

15 Sep

That’s right! It looks like Spring 2016 has decided to mimic Spring 2015 only in two separate cities.

Ma-YI LogoFirst, the world premiere news! In March 2016, my newest play House Rules will be produced by The Ma-Yi Theatre Company at HERE Arts Center, directed by Ma-Yi Artistic Director Ralph B. Peña. To say that I am bouncing off the walls that this play is being mounted by my primary artistic incubator would be an understatement. I’m in pain, y’all, IN PAIN from all this bouncing off walls, floor, ceiling, down stairs… OW!!! And for this season my show will come just after Washer/Dryer by Nandita Shenoy (a fellow member of the Ma-Yi Writers Lab of which I’m currently co-director) and a remount of Lloyd Suh’s The Wong Kids in the Secret of the Space Chupacabra GO! (who was co-director of the Lab for much of my membership and Artistic Director of 2g when they mounted the world premiere of Thunder Above, Deeps Below). This spring will truly be a family affair, pushing the boundaries of new Asian-American playwriting and (particularly with this season) comedy. WE GOT JOKES.

There’s an official announcement for Ma-Yi’s full season on Broadway World. Please ignore the blurb for my show, though. It got kind of cut up and weird somewhere down the line. If you need a blurb, check this out:

House Rules by A. Rey Pamatmat. Rod thinks the game is fixed. Momo’s still learning the rules. Twee doesn’t think winning is enough. JJ hates his hand. And why the hell is Henry still playing? Two families (and some guy named Henry) panic with hilarious and heart-breaking results when they realize their parents won’t be around forever. Can anybody prepare for the inevitable moment when they’re the ones left holding all the cards?

AFlogoAlso, you may have already heard since they announced in July (whoops, sorry), after all the terrible things I do will be seen next March in About Face Theatre’s 25th Anniversary Season, directed by AF Artistic Director Andrew Volkoff! I’m thrilled not just for the Chicago premiere (you know how much I love that city!!!), but because the other shows in the season are by artists for whom I have the deepest admiration. A new play by Philip Dawkins and a Bonnie Metzgar-directed production of The Five Lesbian Brothers’ The Secretaries is the very definition of being in esteemed company. I am so honored and grateful to be in the same sandbox as these folks, and if I were a Chicago resident, this is a season to which I would subscribe in a heartbeat (HINT HINT).

afterall-nodate1More news to come!

One Response to “Another Two Show Spring!”

  1. Abigail VP November 24, 2015 at 3:32 pm #

    So excited to see this. Have been waiting for a new play from you! From what I have been reading it sounds like something that would fit so well into my curriculum in fall 2016, will it be available in print then?

Leave a Reply

