Excellent Reviews for terrible things at About Face Theatre

23 Mar

AFtt JeffIn terms of critically acclaimed productions, after all the terrible things I do is officially three for three. Congratulations to Andrew and everyone at About Face Theatre!

“Pamatmat… upends the pat notions we may have about the dynamics of homophobia and bullying…. Andrew Volkoff’s handsome production has much to recommend it, especially in the nuanced give-and-take between Sphar and Tejero, from good-natured teasing to spiky anger.”

‘after all the terrible things I do’ lets words drive the action (Chicago Tribune, March 22, 2016)

“Andrew Volkoff’s staging for About Face Theatre offers dynamic performances by Colin Sphar as a young, gay writer with a big secret and Lisa Tejero as an aging bookseller with one of her own.”

REVIEW: after all the terrible things I do (Chicago Reader, March 22, 2016)

“A lacerating drama by A. Rey Pamatmat… magnificently mined by Andrew Volkoff….”

Chicago Theater Review: after all the terrible things I do (Stage and Cinema, March 19, 2016)

“I highly recommend this beautiful, engaging performance. If history tells us what happened, it is shows like this that tell us why.”

REVIEW: About Face Theatre’s ‘after all the terrible things I do’ (Showbiz Chicago, March 19, 2016)

“Pamatmat’s writing deftly and eloquently explores people grappling with things they regret, but can’t put right… Andrew Volkoff’s production and his two outstanding actors tell a story that shows people at their ugliest and most vulnerable, and still treats them with great sensitivity… a highly rewarding drama.”

REVIEW: after all the terrible things I do (Chicago Critic, March 21, 2016)

“…a highly polished and authentic two-hander brimming with humor, mystery and drama.”

Strong work in AFT’s after all the terrible things I do (Third Coast Review, March 21, 2016)

“Highly recommended. About Face Theatre is on a roll.”

REVIEW: after all the terrible things I do (Around the Town Chicago, March 18, 2016)

Don’t miss out! Get tickets here before About Face’s production of after all the terrible things I do closes on April 10th.

2 Responses to “Excellent Reviews for terrible things at About Face Theatre”

  1. Mark March 23, 2016 at 2:44 pm #

    Rey,

    Congratulations! How wonderful!

    And I thought the piece in American Theatre was great. Really thoughtful. Well done my friend!

    At some point I shall be sending you an email about a playwriting book I am doing for Routledge Publishers that I might need a contribution from you on.

    Until then…

    Fondly, Mark

    • Rey March 24, 2016 at 12:00 am #

      Of course. Let me know. I’m happy to help in any way I can!

Leave a Reply

